en aanverwante muziek stijlen
Bezoek onze verkoopstand (nr. 323) op Zaterdag 12 & Zondag 13 November tijdens de Mega Platen & CD Beurs in de Brabanthallen te `s-Hertogenbosch.



0 producten
CD/DVD/BluRay/LP Catalogus
Hoe te bestellen
Agenda verkoopstand
Over ons

Eerstvolgende stand
Saturday 12 November 2022
Mega Platen & CD Beurs: Stand 323 (9:00 tot 17:00 uur), Brabanthallen, `s-Hertogenbosch

  • Door de Brexit komen titels die uit de UK afkomstig zijn nog altijd met vertraging binnen. Soms valt het mee en duurt het slechts 2-3 weken, maar het komt helaas ook voor dat we 4 weken of meer moeten wachten. We doen ons best om alles zo goed en snel mogelijk te regelen, maar het blijft lastig...

  • Productdetails

    ArtiestHelp Yourself
    TitelPassing Through - The Complete Studio Recordings
    2e HANDSNee
    GenreProgressive / Seventies Rock
    OmschrijvingEsoteric Recordings release of PASSING THROUGH – THE COMPLETE STUDIO RECORDINGS, a 6CD boxed set by the unsung heroes of British early ‘70s rock, HELP YOURSELF. The band was formed in London in 1970, originally as a backing band for singer-songwriter MALCOLM MORLEY and took their influences from American West Coast Country and Acid Rock. After Morley signed to the Famepushers management stable, his manager John Eichler suggested Morley form a new band and HELP YOURSELF was born. Featuring MALCOLM MORLEY (guitars, keyboards, vocals), former Sam Apple Pie member DAVE CHARLES (drums, percussion, vocals), RICHARD TREECE (guitars, vocals, harmonica) and KEN WHALEY (bass), the band signed to United Artists in 1970 and their eponymous debut album was issued in 1971. Following a tour with label mates Brinsley Schwarz and Ernie Graham (also Famepushers artists), Ken Whaley departed the band. An expanded line-up including Ernie Graham and Jonathan Glemser began work on the album STRANGE AFFAIR in 1972, but Graham and Glemser’s departure half-way through the recording saw roadie Paul Burton join the band to complete the album, (which would include the excellent extended track “The All Electric Fur Trapper”). The band embarked on a tour of Switzerland with Welsh rock legends Man and a bond formed between the two groups. The band’s next album, BEWARE THE SHADOW, was an even stronger effort, featuring the Help’s twelve-minute anthem, “Reaffirmation”, a track that displayed the instrumental excellence of the group. Prior to a tour to promote their most recent album Malcolm Morley fell ill with depression and DEKE LEONARD, recently dismissed from Man, took his place. When Morley recovered, Leonard remained with the band, appearing with them on the CHRISTMAS AT THE PATTI concert in Swansea in December 1972. In early 1973 Deke Leonard departed the band to pursue a solo career and the band began work on the album HAPPY DAYS, a record that also featured THE FLYING ACES (featuring former MAN bassist MARTIN ACE and his wife George) and VIVIAN “SPIV’ MORRIS and spawned a touring musical review featuring all the musicians. Paul Burton’s departure during these sessions saw Ken Whaley return to the band. Work then commenced on another album, THE RETURN OF KEN WHALEY. Both albums were released as a package by United Artists later that year. Although critically acclaimed, commercial success continued to elude the band and Help Yourself were dropped by their record label. A fifth album was recorded at Chipping Norton Studios in Oxfordshire in 1973 but this failed to gain a release for over thirty years. The aborted album led to Help Yourself disbanding, with Malcolm Morley and Ken Whaley joining Man in 1974 for their album Winos, Rhinos and Lunatics. Following his departure from Man, Malcolm Morley recorded a solo album in 1976 that would also remain unreleased for thirty years. Over four decades on, HELP YOURSELF are now regarded as one of the great, unsung British bands of their era and the songs of Malcolm Morley are recognised as true treasures. PASSING THROUGH – THE COMPLETE STUDIO RECORDINGS is a lovingly compiled boxed set which gathers together the albums HELP YOURSELF, STRANGE AFFAIR, BEWARE THE SHADOW, THE RETURN OF KEN WHALEY / HAPPY DAYS, the unreleased album FIVE , all the band’s non-album singles & Malcolm Morley’s unreleased album LOST & FOUND along with a previously unreleased BBC session & a studio demo. The set is newly re-mastered from the original master tapes and features an illustrated booklet with rare photographs and a new essay with interviews and a poster and is a tribute to the inspirational music of HELP YOURSELF. Track Listing: DISC ONE: HELP YOURSELF REMASTERED EDITION Released in 1971 1. I MUST SEE JESUS FOR MYSELF 2. TO KATHERINE THEY FELL 3. YOUR EYES ARE LOOKING DOWN 4. OLD MAN 5. LOOK AT THE VIEW 6. PAPER LEAVES 7. RUNNING DOWN DEEP 8. DEBORAH 9. STREET SONGS DISC TWO: STRANGE AFFAIR REMASTERED EDITION Released in 1972 1. STRANGE AFFAIR 2. BROWN LADY 3. MOVIE STAR 4. DEANNA CALL AND SCOTTY 5. HEAVEN ROW 6. EXCERPTS FROM “THE ALL ELECTRIC FUR TRAPPER” (SOUNDTRACK FROM THE FILM OF THE NOVEL) 7. MANY WAYS OF MEETINGS BONUS TRACK: 8. HEAVEN ROW (SINGLE VERSION) A-SIDE OF SINGLE – RELEASED IN 1972 DISC THREE: BEWARE THE SHADOW REMASTERED EDITION Released in 1972 1. ALABAMA LADY 2. REAFFIRMATION 3. CALAPSO 4. SHE’S MY GIRL 5. MOLLY BAKE BEAN 6. AMERICAN MOTHER 7. PASSING THROUGH BONUS TRACKS: 8. MONA (WITH DEKE LEONARD & B.J. COLE) (LIVE) 9. EDDY WARING (WITH DEKE LEONARD & B.J. COLE) (LIVE) TAKEN FROM THE ALBUM “CHRISTMAS AT THE PATTI” RELEASED IN 1973 10. JOHNNY B. GOODE (A-side of single) 11. MOMMY WON’T BE HOME FOR CHRISTMAS (B-side of single) DISC FOUR: THE RETURN OF KEN WHALEY / HAPPY DAYS REMASTERED EDITION Released in 1973 “THE RETURN OF KEN WHALEY” 1. CANDY KANE 2. PIONEERS OF THE WEST IN THE HEAD 3. WHO KILLED PARADISE? 4. AMY 5. BLOWN AWAY 6. MAN WE’RE GLAD TO KNOW YOU 7. IT HAS TO BE HAPPY DAYS 8. THE GOLDEN HANDSHAKE 9. JESUS WHAT ARE LITTLE KIDS FOR? 10. VIRGINIA 11. WAITING AT THE STATION 12. SEASHELL 13. I’VE GOT BEAUTIFUL YOU 14. MY FRIEND 15. ELEPHANT BY MY SIDE DISC FIVE: 5 REMASTERED EDITION Recorded in 1973 1. LIGHT YOUR WAY 2. COWBOY SONG 3. MONKEY WRENCH 4. ROMANCE IN A TIN 5. GRACE 6. MARTHA 7. MONKEY WRENCH (REPRISE) 8. THE ROCK 9. WILLOW 10. ALLEY CAT 11. DUNEBURGERS BONUS TRACKS: 12. LET IT ROLL (BBC BOB HARRIS SESSION) (PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED) 13. JOHNNY B. GOODE (BBC BOB HARRIS SESSION) (PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED) 14. HALF BREED (BBC BOB HARRIS SESSION) (PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED) 15. RICKY THE REINDEER (DEMO 1972) (PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED) DISC SIX: MALCOLM MORLEY: LOST & FOUND REMASTERED EDITION Recorded in 1976 1. WITHOUT A WORD 2. BURNING LOVE 3. LOST AND FOUND 4. HONEY PLEASE 5. ALL THAT I NEED 6. RUBY 7. GRACE 8. FISH AND CHIPS 9. WHITEMAN’S BLUES 10. ROMANCE IN A TIN 11. NAKED AS THE NIGHT
    Extra informatie
    Alle genoemde prijzen zijn in Euro`s (inclusief 21% BTW, exclusief verzendkosten), tenzij anders aangegeven. Prijswijzigingen en (druk)fouten voorbehouden. © 2022 Beyond Rock Mailorder alle rechten voorbehouden. Kamer van Koophandel nr. 59643757.